Solid State Physics

Lund University

Denna sida på svenska This page in English

News and Events


The Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation has announced the approved applications for infrastructure of national importance.  Solid State Physis researchers, Kimberly Dick Thelander, Jonas Johansson och Lars Samuelson are...[more]


The Swedish Research Council has announced their decisions regarding International Postdoc grants for the spring 2013. Dr. Jesper Wallentin has been granted 3150000 SEK for a three year post doc in Germany where he will examine...[more]


The project IMPROVE (Improving the Visual Environment for all) has been granted support from the Pufendorf Institute´s board and will commence as a "theme" at the Pufendorf Institute for Advanced Studies in October...[more]


Professor Lars Samuelson has been inducted into the Cleantech Scandinavia ‘s Hall of Fame as the first researcher. As stated in the press release, the addition “is a tribute to his achievements” and “highlights the crucial...[more]


On Friday June 14th 2013 at 14:00, Nicklas Anttu will defend his thesis: "Nanophotonics in absorbing III-V nanowire arrays" in Rydbergsalen at the Department of Physics. The opponent will be professor Eli...[more]


On April 22nd Professor Lars Samuelson gave a TEDx Lund University talk at the Museum of Public Art. The topic of the talk was “let there be light”. Professor Samuelson gave his perspective on how nanoscience can provide us with...[more]


Lars Samuelson is the recipient of the 2013 IUVSTA prize of Science which is awarded every three years to recognize and encourage outstanding internationally-acclaimed research in the fields of interest to the IUVSTA. The...[more]


On Friday April 19th 2013 at 13:15, Kristian Storm will defend his thesis: "Novel Processing and Electrical Characterization of Nanowires" in Lecture hall A of the Department of Physics. The opponent will be...[more]


Lund based Sol Voltaics recently won the regional final to enter straight into the 33-list. The Nanometer Structure Consortium spin out company utilizes nanowires to increase the efficiency of solar panels by 25%, making solar...[more]


On Friday February 15th 2013 at 14:00, Karla Hillerich defended her thesis: "Influence of Seed Particle Material, Preparation, and dynamics on Nanowore Growth" in Rydbergsalen of the Department of Physics. The opponent...[more]


The project “Nanowirebased solar cells for realization of cheap, renewable energy” was recently funded by the Swedish Energy Agency with 9 million SEK over four years. The aim of the project is to develop high efficiency solar...[more]


In the latest issue of Science issued today, nmC@LU researchers and colleagues from the AMON-RA project show for the first time that nanowire solar cells may be a real player on the green energy market. They demonstrate 13.8%...[more]


On Friday January 18th 2013 at 10:15, Jesper Wallentin will defend his thesis: "Doping of semiconductor nanowires" in Sal B of the Department of Physics. The opponent will be professor Yi Cui from Stanford University.[more]


This morning Swedish science radio had a radio feature on LED-lamp efficiency and how nanotechnology may help to increase color rendering and doubling efficiency in LEDs. nmC@LU co-director Lars Samuelson was interviewed for this...[more]


Dr. Frances M Ross is one of three newly appointed honorary doctors by Lund University’s Faculty of Engineering. She works at the Nanoscale Materials Analysis Department at IBM T.J. Watson Research Center in New York and has...[more]


Kimberly Dick Thelander, at the Nanometer Structure Consortium, is among the first Wallenberg Academy Fellows. 25 young researchers have been selected to receive funding from the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, enabling...[more]


In the latest issue of Nature issued today, nmC@LU researchers present a new way of manufacturing nanowires – aerotaxy – which is 20-1000 times faster than conventional epitaxy while maintaining ability to control growth by...[more]


On November 14th Head of Solid State Physics Heiner Linke gave a talk at TEDxLund on: Nanoscience: Cleaner, Smarter Energy. To see the 16 minute talk on Youtube click here.[more]


In the latest round of the Swedish Research Council´s call for proposals within natural and engineering sciences four Solid State Physics researchers have been successful in gaining support. On November 1st 2012 it was...[more]


In a recent Nature Nanotechnology paper by Storm et al Solid State Physics researchers demonstrate Hall measurements on a single InP nanowire. This leap forward for nanowire characterization is promising for nanowire-based solid...[more]

Displaying results 101 to 120 out of 136.